Alex Almeida

Alex Almeida São Paulo | BZ

Biografie

Alex Almeida ist ein brasilianischer Fotograf, dessen überzeugende Dokumentationspraxis Themen wie Entwicklung, Umwelt, Kultur und ethnische Zugehörigkeit in seinem Buch untersucht Heimatland und darüber hinaus.

Geboren in Santos, einer Küstenstadt am Stadtrand von São Paulo, begann er zu fotografieren, während er sein Grundstudium abschloss, angetrieben von einer brennenden Neugier und dem Wunsch, das zu entdecken stories Entfaltung in der Welt um ihn herum. 

Er hat einige der am stärksten marginalisierten Gemeinden Brasiliens besucht, vom Herzen des Amazonas-Regenwaldes bis zu den peripheren Städten des Nordens, und dabei ein vielfältiges Mosaik von Kulturen und Traditionen entdeckt, das vor dem Blick der Massenmedien verborgen ist.

Seine zutiefst fesselnden Bilder zeichnen sich durch eine bemerkenswerte Wahrnehmung, Kunstfertigkeit und Humanismus aus und vermitteln das poetisch stories von denen, deren Traditionen und Erfahrungen so oft vom Mainstream-Diskurs ausgeschlossen wurden.

Sonderartikel Stories

Color film photo of a woman in red dress by Brazilian photographerAlex Almeida

Alex Almeida São Paulo | BZ

Biography

Alex Almeida is a Brazilian photographer whose compelling documentary practice investigates themes of development, environment, culture, and ethnicity, both in his home country and beyond.

Born in Santos, a coastal city on the outskirts of São Paulo, he began photographing whilst completing his undergraduate studies, driven by a burning curiosity and a desire to discover the stories unfolding in the world around him. 

He has visited some of Brazil’s most marginalized communities, from the heart of the Amazon rainforest to the peripheral towns and cities of the north, discovering a diverse mosaic of cultures and traditions, hidden from the gaze of the mass media.

His deeply arresting images are characterized by a remarkable perceptiveness, artistry, and humanism, and poetically impart the stories of those whose traditions and experiences have so often been excluded from mainstream discourse.

Featured Stories