À l'intérieur de Hanoi

Maika Elan Hô Chi Minh | VN

Biographie

Maika Elan est une photographe de rue et documentaire vietnamienne, dont les images viscérales et riches en couleurs imprègnent une atmosphère palpable et donnent collectivement un portrait nuancé de la vie dans son pays natal. 

Elle a commencé à prendre des photos après avoir obtenu son diplôme de l'Université des sciences sociales et humaines de Hanoi en 2008, capturant initialement son environnement quotidien, bien qu'elle soit passée à la photographie professionnelle peu de temps après, en collaborant avec des clients éditoriaux et des entreprises de mode dans son pays d'origine. 

Ses premières incursions dans la photographie documentaire ont eu lieu en 2010 sous la forme de Le choix rose, un portrait profondément intime de la vie quotidienne des couples homosexuels au Vietnam, qui a ensuite été présenté dans un certain nombre de publications internationales en ligne et imprimées et a été awarded 'Best Photo Essay' à Fondation Indochina Media Memorial, 1er prix pour Stories, Questions contemporaines, à World Press Photo 2013, et 1er prix Documentaire Story à la Photo de fierté Award 2013.

Elle est actuellement basée à Hoh Chi Minh Ville, au Vietnam, où elle travaille sur des missions commerciales et éditoriales ainsi que sur des projets photographiques personnels.

présentés Stories

Inside Hanoi

Maika Elan Ho Chi Minh | VN

Biography

Maika Elan is a Vietnamese documentary and street photographer, whose visceral, color-rich images, permeate with palpable atmosphere, and collectively impart a nuanced portrait of life in her homeland. 

She first began taking pictures after graduating from Hanoi’s University of Social Sciences and Humanities in 2008, initially capturing her everyday surroundings, though transitioned to professional photography shortly after, collaborating with editorial clients and fashion firms in her homeland. 

Her first forays into documentary photography came in 2010 in the form of The Pink Choice, a deeply-intimate portrayal of the everyday lives of gay couples in Vietnam, which went on to be featured in a number of international online and print publications and be awarded ‘Best Photo Essay’ at Indochina Media Memorial Foundation, 1st prize for Stories, Contemporary Issues, at World Press Photo 2013, and 1st prize Documentary Story at the Pride Photo Award 2013.

She is currently based in Hoh Chi Minh City, Vietnam, where she works on commercial and editorial assignments along with personal photographic projects.

Featured Stories

Tip-Logo

To support photographers, each month we are
offering 10 FREE ENTRIES to the competition.

Enter your email and join our newsletter to be considered.