In Hanoi

Maika Elan Ho Chi Minh | VN

Biografie

Maika Elan ist eine vietnamesische Dokumentar- und Straßenfotografin, deren viszerale, farbenreiche Bilder eine spürbare Atmosphäre durchdringen und gemeinsam ein nuanciertes Porträt des Lebens in ihrer Heimat vermitteln. 

Nach ihrem Abschluss an der Universität für Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften in Hanoi im Jahr 2008 begann sie mit dem Fotografieren. Zunächst hielt sie ihre alltägliche Umgebung fest, wechselte jedoch kurz darauf zur professionellen Fotografie und arbeitete mit Redaktionskunden und Modefirmen in ihrer Heimat zusammen. 

Ihre ersten Streifzüge in die Dokumentarfotografie fanden 2010 in Form von statt Die rosa Wahl, eine zutiefst intime Darstellung des Alltagslebens schwuler Paare in Vietnam, die in einer Reihe internationaler Online- und Printpublikationen erschien und als „Best Photo Essay“ ausgezeichnet wurde Indochina Media Memorial Foundation, 1. Preis für Stories, Zeitgenössische Fragen, bei World Press Photo 2013und 1. Preis Documentary Story im Pride Photo Award 2013.

Derzeit lebt sie in Hoh-Chi-Minh-Stadt, Vietnam, wo sie neben persönlichen Fotoprojekten auch für kommerzielle und redaktionelle Aufgaben arbeitet.

Sonderartikel Stories

Inside Hanoi

Maika Elan Ho Chi Minh | VN

Biography

Maika Elan is a Vietnamese documentary and street photographer, whose visceral, color-rich images, permeate with palpable atmosphere, and collectively impart a nuanced portrait of life in her homeland. 

She first began taking pictures after graduating from Hanoi’s University of Social Sciences and Humanities in 2008, initially capturing her everyday surroundings, though transitioned to professional photography shortly after, collaborating with editorial clients and fashion firms in her homeland. 

Her first forays into documentary photography came in 2010 in the form of The Pink Choice, a deeply-intimate portrayal of the everyday lives of gay couples in Vietnam, which went on to be featured in a number of international online and print publications and be awarded ‘Best Photo Essay’ at Indochina Media Memorial Foundation, 1st prize for Stories, Contemporary Issues, at World Press Photo 2013, and 1st prize Documentary Story at the Pride Photo Award 2013.

She is currently based in Hoh Chi Minh City, Vietnam, where she works on commercial and editorial assignments along with personal photographic projects.

Featured Stories

Tip-Logo

To support photographers, each month we are
offering 10 FREE ENTRIES to the competition.

Enter your email and join our newsletter to be considered.