纪录片奖 2017年八月


  • 获奖摄影师 纳迪尔·布坎(Nadir Bucan)

    一个人把羊带到土耳其范附近的谷仓。 2013年XNUMX月。摘自《太阳的阴影下》系列。 范(Van)位于土耳其安纳托利亚东部地区,以其村庄,山脉,湖泊和岛屿成为古老的定居点。 它的居民从这种安静的生活中获得力量。 当您走上陡峭的道路并到达遥远的山区村庄时,我们许多人都不熟悉的生活在欢迎您-这种生活是我们从小就从未见过的,而且我们将永远不会再见到。 这种生活与我们现在所处的“技术生活”相对,我们被物体所包围。 -纳迪尔·布坎(Nadir Bucan) ©Nadir Bucan – 您的网站
  • 入围 金瓦·达赫

    “乍得-在乍得南部一条漫长的高速公路之一的一侧,我们看到这些女孩穿着红色,因为它们的颜色在尘土飞扬的黄色沙漠上显得与众不同。渴望品尝新鲜的骆驼奶,我们在他们旁边拉了上来。我们实现了“哈利卜·贾马尔(Halib Jamal)”的愿望,白金装在可口可乐瓶中赠送给我们,因为当时是早晨,他们刚刚挤奶。 -Ginwa Daher ©Ghinwa Daher – 您的网站
  • 入围 亚伦·安芬森

    “她不想让自己的脸露面。她不知道自己的雇主,老师,父母如果知道她正在参加香港的民主运动会做什么。由于抗议活动的领导者目前正因其行为而被判入狱。参与和平抗议,言论自由的概念以及在香港“世界城市”的政治代表性从未像现在这样具有争议性。 -亚伦·安芬森 ©亚伦·安芬森– 您的网站
  • 入围 安东尼·索卡(Antony Sojka)

    “潮汐是关于人们生活在一个非常独特的地方的照片,这叫哈利根,它由位于德国北海的十个小岛组成。哈利格岛是一个很小的扁平岛,没有防护堤。盐沼覆盖了整个地区到处都是小水渠,人口范围为2到100名,有着悠久的家庭居住传统,主要收入来源是旅游,农业和沿海保护。是德国最小的学校,只有几个学生,并且他们之间的年龄差距很大。人们正在变老,没有足够的工作或空间来容纳新一代的生活;而且Warften上的房屋非常昂贵,有些房子需要翻新,这使得很难找到合适的买家,他们也将不得不愿意住在Hallig上,这是一个非常困难的问题,没有人能够说出未来到底会发生什么。 唯一可以确定的就是下一个浪潮。” -安东尼·索卡(Antony Sojka) ©安东尼·索伊卡(Antony Sojka)– 您的网站
  • 入围 帕纳桑·帕塔纳库奇

    “对曼谷各地如雨后春笋般冒出的新高层建筑的豪华性以及建造它们的工人的艰辛生活提出质疑的照片。该项目是通过将这些高层建筑广告中的图像并置而实现的,特别是其豪华建筑内部,在建筑工人的临时贫困庇护所的照片中。” -Panasann Pattanakulchai ©Panasann Pattanakulchai – 您的网站
  • 入围 让·克洛德·莫斯凯蒂

    Egungun协会是一个秘密的伏都教学会,它尊敬祖先的精神并永存他们的记忆。 Egungun白天或黑夜出现在街道上,跳跃,跳舞或散步,并大声喊叫。 他应该是从死者的土地上回来以便确定情况。 因此,他可能被认为是一种超自然的探究者,他不时出现以询问人们的一般家庭行为,并惩罚不法行为。 -让·克洛德·莫斯凯蒂(Jean-Claude Moschetti) ©Jean-Claude Moschetti – 您的网站
  • 入围 毛罗·德·贝蒂奥(Mauro De Bettio)

    9年1963月50日,在最初的填充过程中,一次巨大的山体滑坡在湖中造成了人为的特大海啸,其中有250万立方米的水以820米(1,910英尺)高的浪高过大坝,导致数个海啸被完全摧毁。村镇,有39人死亡。 这是我一生中观察到的美好的日常小手势之一。 我的祖母普拉西达(Placida)在63岁时就已经XNUMX岁了,当时在瓦乔特(Vajont)的冲击下,她失去了丈夫。 不幸的是,一个命运未定的人没有时间让我知道。 每个人都知道那座山会落在那个人工湖中。 但是没有人期望水会永远淹没整个村庄及其几乎所有居民。 浪潮使她和少数灵魂完全孤零零地生活在世界上。” -毛罗·德·贝蒂奥 ©Mauro De Bettio – 您的网站
  • 入围 桑德拉·卡塔尼奥·阿多诺(Sandra Cattaneo Adorno)

    “我拍摄到靠近地下车站的人们,当他们进入地下后进入光明或坠入阴影中。在这种光明和黑暗的边缘领域中,随着人们适应新的光照条件,潜意识弱点出现了强烈的灯光和对比度改变了人们的特征,并允许创造叙事的可能性,这让我很感兴趣。” -Sandra Cattaneo Adorno ©Sandra Cattaneo Adorno – 您的网站
  • 入围 维珍妮·特拉瑟(Virginie Terrasse)

    塔西拉格(Tasiilaq)的一个年轻人不固守大地 -维珍妮·泰拉丝(Virginie Terrasse) ©Virginie Terrasse – 您的网站

入围

评审团的反馈

  • ©比约恩·斯坦兹

    评审: 比约恩·斯坦兹

    比约恩·斯坦兹(BjörnSteinz)从小就开始在他家乡德国Oberursel的一家当地报纸拍摄照片。

    比约恩从事多个长期项目,对摄影的兴趣主要集中在纪实摄影,新闻摄影和肖像画上。 他的大部分项目都属于社交内容。 多年来,比约恩曾在俄罗斯联邦工作过多次,尤其着重于 stories 与雅库特地区西伯利亚地区冬季的极端天气有关。

    Björn的总部位于捷克共和国,在布拉格的英美大学教授纪实摄影和视觉文化。 他的作品已被《时代周刊》,《金融时报》,《地理》,《新闻周刊》,《开放社会基金会》和 National Geographic.

    比约恩由Panos Pictures代理,Panos Pictures是伦敦著名的专门从事全球社会问题的摄影社。

尼科洛·塔博拉
© Nicolò Taborra
Robi Chakraborty 在印度拍摄的一个女孩和一个女人的彩色肖像照片
© 罗比·查克拉博蒂

当前主题:
旅行用品 截止日期:31 August 2022

比赛评委: 史蒂夫·麦库里
旅行时,发现一个地方的生活节奏的唯一方法就是去体验它。 我们参观的每个地方都有其独特的外观、氛围和氛围。 了解其人民、习俗和传统至关重要,而且总能捕捉到一些独特的东西。

今年夏天,我们希望看到能够传达一个地方的辉煌生活并触发我们回忆的图像。 无论主题是什么:街道、肖像、风景、纪录片……我们想分享您的视觉和智力之旅——让我们一起旅行吧!


一等奖: $1000 · 二等奖: $600 · 三等奖: $400

历届获奖者


上一版 2020/2021


过去的版本

2019/2020版

2018/2019版

2017/2018版

2016/2017版

Theme: DOCUMENTARY August 2017


  • A man takes his sheep to the barn near Van, Turkey. January 2013. From the series 'Under the Shadow of the Sun'. Van, located in the eastern Anatolia region of Turkey, emerges as an archaic settlement with its villages, mountains, lakes and islands. Its inhabitants take their strength from this quiet life. When you take steep roads and reach distant mountain villages, a life welcomes you that is unfamiliar to many of us—a life that we haven't seen since childhood, and that we will never see again. This life is the antithesis of the 'techno-life' we live in now, where we are surrounded by objects. - Nadir Bucan

    Winning Photographer Nadir Bucan

  • "Chad - on the side of one of the endless highways of Southern Chad, we spot these girls in red, as their colors stood out starkly against the dusty yellow desert. Eager for a taste of fresh camel milk, we pulled up beside them. Our wish for "Halib Jamal" was granted and the white gold was presented to us in a coca cola bottle, as it was morning and they had just been milking their camels." - Ghinwa Daher

    Finalist Ghinwa Daher

  • "She didn't want her face shown. She didn't know what her employer, her teachers, her parents would do if they knew she was taking part in Hong Kong's push for democracy. As protest leaders are currently being retroactively jailed for their participation in peaceful protests, notions of free speech and political representation in the 'World City' of Hong Kong have never been more contentious." - Aaron Anfinson

    Finalist Aaron Anfinson

  • "Tide is a photo-essay about people living in a very unique place called Halligen, which consists of ten small islands situated in the German North Sea. A Hallig is a very small, flat island with no protective dikes. The salt marsh covers the whole area which is full of small water canals. Population ranges between 2 to 100 inhabitants who have a long family tradition of living there. The main sources of income are tourism, agriculture and coastal protection.Some of the Halligen have their own school, which are Germany's smallest with only a few pupils and large age gaps between them. People are getting older and there isn't enough work or space for the livelihoods of newer generations. Also the houses on the Warften are very expensive and some are in need of renovation and this makes it difficult to find suitable buyers, who also would have to be willing to want to live on the Hallig. It's a very difficult issue and no one is able to say what exactly is going to happen in the future. The only thing sure to come is the next tide." - Antony Sojka

    Finalist Antony Sojka

  • "Photographs which question the luxury of new high-rise buildings which are mushrooming all over Bangkok, and the tough lives of the workers who built them. The project is realized by juxtaposing images from the advertisements of those high-rise buildings, especially their luxurious interiors, within photographs of construction workers’ temporary destitute shelters." - Panasann Pattanakulchai

    Finalist Panasann Pattanakulchai

  • The Egungun association is a secret voodoo society which honors spirits of the ancestors and perpetuate their memories. Egungun appears in the streets by day or night, leaping, dancing, or walking and uttering loud cries. He is supposed to have returned from the land of the dead in order to ascertain what is going. He may thus be considered a kind of supernatural inquisitor who appears from time to time to inquire into the general domestic conduct of people, and to punish misdeeds. - Jean-Claude Moschetti

    Finalist Jean-Claude Moschetti

  • On 9 October 1963, during initial filling, a massive landslide caused a man-made megatsunami in the lake in which 50 million cubic metres of water overtopped the dam in a wave 250 metres (820 ft) high, leading to the complete destruction of several villages and towns, and 1,910 deaths. This is one of the wonderful little everyday-gestures that during all my life I have observed in her. Placida, my grandmother, she was 39 years old way back in '63, when under the wave of the Vajont she lost her husband. A person who, unfortunately, fate has not left the time to let me know. Everyone knew that that piece of mountain would have fall in that artificial lake. But no one expected that the water would sweep away forever an entire village and almost all its inhabitants. A wave that left her, and a handful of souls, completely alone in the world." - Mauro De Bettio

    Finalist Mauro De Bettio

  • "I photograph people close to the underground station as they emerge into the light after having been underground or as they go down into the shadow. In this liminal realm of light and darkness an element of unconscious vulnerability emerges as people adjust to the new light condition. I am intrigued by the way in which the strong light and the contrast transform the features of the people and allow the possibility of narratives being created." - Sandra Cattaneo Adorno

    Finalist Sandra Cattaneo Adorno

  • A youth not clinging to the earth, cimetery in Tasiilaq - Virginie Terrasse

    Finalist Virginie Terrasse

Congratulations to Nadir Bucan who’s image “The Man and the Sheep” won the competition!

Björn Steinz, Competition Judge:

“The choice of the winner was not easy – in the final round were a few images which attracted my attention and which worked visually very well as documentary photographs. The Shepard image communicated to me the most by showing a man protected against the cold with his animals in the snow covered mountains in the middle of nowhere, walking a tiny path to somewhere we do not know.

The image is simply composed but shows with this how small we are as human beings in a beautiful, fascinating and rough landscape. A contemplative and peaceful photograph about the daily life of a man and his animals in a remote mountain area.”

Join us over on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter where we’ll be sharing all our favorite images from the competition. Congratulations to all the talented photographers who made it to the final!

Finalists

“We are proud to present the work of ten photographers excelling in the art of documentary photography. The variety of visual stories showcased here celebrates all the diversity of mankind, from the frozen mountains of Turkey to the suburbs of Bangkok – but also raises our attention and awareness on multiple social issues. This outstanding group of photographers shows impressive storytelling skills and great talent at capturing the essence and complexity of a situation. Congratulations to all!” – The Independent Photographer Editors.

– The Theme: Documentary Photography

Documentary Photography is much more than the chronicle of events and environments. It offers us the possibility to develop and share our ideas through any kind of storytelling. With a multitude of approaches ranging from real life reportage, photojournalism to amateur or artistic documentation: We wanted to discover and celebrate photographers believing in the photography of ideas.

– The Judge: Björn Steinz

Represented by Panos Pictures Björn is a documentary photographer who also teaches Documentary Photography and Visual Culture at the Anglo-American University of Prague. The majority of Björn’s works are within a social content and his photography primarily focuses on documentary photography, photojournalism and portraiture. Over the years his work has been published everywhere from Die Zeit, The Financial Times, Geo and Der Spiegel to The Open Society Foundations, Newsweek and National Geographic.

Previous Winners


Previous Edition 2016/2017