肖像奖 2020年XNUMX月


  • 获奖摄影师 安吉利卡·科林(Angelika Kollin)

    获奖摄影师 安吉利卡·科林(Angelika Kollin)

    “抱我直到我走”
    关于癌症最后阶段的战斗故事的一部分。
    ©安吉利卡·科林(Angelika Kollin)
  • 贾斯汀·基恩 (Justin Keene) 的彩色中画幅肖像照片

    二等奖 贾斯汀·基恩

    二等奖 贾斯汀·基恩

    奎德 -南非开普敦
    Queezy是开普敦新兴同志文化的年轻音乐家。 该项目挑战了南非传统的代表和性别文献记录方法。 ©贾斯汀·基恩
  • 西蒙·马丁的英国小男孩彩色肖像

    三等奖 西蒙·马丁

    三等奖 西蒙·马丁

    “颁奖仪式” - 学员在英国颁奖典礼后收集座椅底座
    青少年时期是一种令人生畏的经历,我们现在可能认为它微不足道,但它可以在我们成为的人中发挥重要作用。 随着英国教育系统不断削减资金和大学费用上涨,我想看看其他教育来源和对 13 至 18 岁儿童的影响。 Royal Marine Cadets 是一项课后计划,利用皇家海军陆战队的精神来训练年轻人完成各种任务。 尽管这些活动主要以军事为基础,但他们学习的技能并不仅仅是为了培养年轻的士兵,而是为了培养自信的年轻人。 让学员有能力在他们选择追随的不同行业中实现个人目标。 来自“学员”系列 ©西蒙·马丁(Simon Martin)
  • 入围 埃尔米南多·阿里耶(Erminando Aliaj)

    入围 埃尔米南多·阿里耶(Erminando Aliaj)

    “面具背后:护士莎拉·科莱蒂(Sara Coletti) -意大利伦巴第
    该项目是伦巴第布雷西亚Poliambulanza医院休息或轮班结束时卫生工作者的一系列肖像。

    在紧急情况下需要对医生,护士和卫生工作者进行肖像摄影,这是因为我渴望承认他们为人,露出他们的脸,这些脸通常藏在保护用具的后面,几乎使他们变成抽象的人物,成为机构而非人类的偶像。 为了描述他们的承诺至关重要,他们被称为“天使”或“英雄”,但是也许那些超人的术语掩盖了无法面对如此激烈的人类体验的能力。 在面具后面,有一张脸,一个凝视,一个面部表情,比言语更能告诉我们这场战斗所花费的生命。 紧急情况下共同提供服​​务的做法加强了健康工作者与患者之间关系的人性化,克服了他们在角色,背景和生活道路上的差异。

    遮罩的后面没有层次结构或划分,而是个人之间的自发团结。 这些肖像可能成为有用的见证人,甚至在紧急情况发生后,当所有这些都将结束时,可以帮助重塑我们的个人和社会故事,这将不可避免地给我们带来伤痕,伤痕和哀悼,但也需要社交个人变化和更高的意识水平。 ©Erminando Aliaj
  • 入围 劳拉·潘纳克(Laura Pannack)

    入围 劳拉·潘纳克(Laura Pannack)

    “巴鲁克” -来自“ Burrata”系列
    16岁时,巴鲁克选择离开他的东正教犹太人社区,并去大学学习。 这项艰巨而具有挑战性的决定迫使他质疑自己的身份和未来。 劳拉·潘纳克(Laura Pannack)
  • 入围 利德维·穆德(Lidewij Mulder)

    入围 利德维·穆德(Lidewij Mulder)

    “Stories 关于我的祖父”
    “我祖母在卧室里的肖像。她一直在讲 stories 关于五年前去世的祖父。 我的祖父母在一起已经60多年了,是团队的完美典范。 当祖父得了癌症时,祖母竭尽所能照顾他。 她不能坐着不动,不能留在一个地方,但她把所有的都转了过来,这样她就可以照顾他。” ©Lidewij Mulder
  • 入围 安吉利卡·科林(Angelika Kollin)

    入围 安吉利卡·科林(Angelika Kollin)

    “玛莎是我们的未来 -南非开普敦
    伊曼纽尔(Emmanuel)是马拉维的移民和临时工,居住在开普敦众多的城镇之一。 描绘伊曼纽尔抱着他2岁的女儿玛莎(Martha)。 伊曼纽尔唯一的梦想是拥有更美好的未来。 ©安吉利卡·科林(Angelika Kollin)
  • 米歇尔·马歇尔(Michelle Marshall)的年轻女子的彩色电影肖像照片

    入围 米歇尔·马歇尔

    入围 米歇尔·马歇尔

    “非常规仪式” - 英国
    与斯洛文尼亚时尚手工艺品设计师Jana Zornik合影
    ©米歇尔·马歇尔
  • 入围 克劳迪娅·卡波恩(Claudia Caporn)

    入围 克劳迪娅·卡波恩(Claudia Caporn)

    母亲在mu子时 -澳大利亚2019
    农业中的妇女很少得到承认或赞赏。 在全世界,西方的话语和刻板印象将农民描绘成坚强的白人男性。 在1994年之前,澳大利亚法律禁止将女性列为“农民”。 取而代之的是,他们仅仅被看作是无能为力的“沉默的伴侣”,“家政”,甚至仅仅是“农民的妻子”。 但是,即使改变了妇女在农业中的法律地位,农场上的妇女仍然是隐形的,被严重歪曲,低估,低估并被解雇。

    尽管是澳大利亚农业生产中的关键因素,但妇女在该行业中很少获得公众认可。 这张照片是我正在进行的系列作品的一部分,该系列描绘了澳大利亚农业行业的许多女性工人。 这是我妈妈 她是一个妻子,四个女儿的母亲,一名学校老师和一名农民。 他们与我父亲一起拥有和耕种18,000英亩的土地,种植小麦,大麦和羽扇豆,饲养5000多只绵羊。 在我们准备进行mu割(去除臀部周围多余的羊毛,以防止致命的中风)为我们准备的新季节羔羊时,在一个朦胧的冬天清晨,在这里给她拍照。 克劳迪娅·卡彭(Claudia Caporn)
  • 入围 贾斯汀丁沃尔

    入围 贾斯汀丁沃尔

    “风在变”
    在生活中,我们必须戴很多帽子。 每顶帽子都需要与我们不同的事物,并影响我们在世界上与他人互动的方式。 每个人都有自己的一套期望和义务。 每个人代表我们分裂的自我的一部分,具有许多身份,这些身份通常被整齐地切成薄片。 帽子代表了我们必须执行和承担的许多不同角色和任务。
    ©贾斯汀·丁沃尔

入围

评审团的反馈

  • 丹·温特斯的肖像,特拉维斯·史密斯(Travis Smith)
    ©特拉维斯史密斯

    评审: 丹·温特斯

    美国艺术家,以他能够解释的广泛主题而闻名 丹·温特斯 被广泛认为是他那个时代最受赞誉的肖像摄影师之一。

    他的标志性名人肖像画赢得了美国摄影,传播艺术,PDN,纽约艺术指导俱乐部和《生活》杂志的一百多个国家和国际奖项。 2003年,他获得人像类世界新闻摄影奖一等奖,并在柯达传记传记“传奇”系列中被柯达誉为照片“ Icon”。 在他的整个职业生涯中,他还获得了著名的杂志摄影Alfred Eisenstaedt奖。

    除了定期分配杂志,例如 Esquire, 纽约时报杂志, 名利场, 滚石, “新闻周刊”时间“纽约客”,他的作品曾出现在纽约和洛杉矶的五个画廊个展中,其著作名为《 “丹·温特斯:期刊照片” 由2009年出版 光圈。

尼科洛·塔博拉
© Nicolò Taborra
Robi Chakraborty 在印度拍摄的一个女孩和一个女人的彩色肖像照片
© 罗比·查克拉博蒂

当前主题:
旅行用品 截止日期:31 August 2022

比赛评委: 史蒂夫·麦库里
旅行时,发现一个地方的生活节奏的唯一方法就是去体验它。 我们参观的每个地方都有其独特的外观、氛围和氛围。 了解其人民、习俗和传统至关重要,而且总能捕捉到一些独特的东西。

今年夏天,我们希望看到能够传达一个地方的辉煌生活并触发我们回忆的图像。 无论主题是什么:街道、肖像、风景、纪录片……我们想分享您的视觉和智力之旅——让我们一起旅行吧!


一等奖: $1000 · 二等奖: $600 · 三等奖: $400

历届获奖者


上一版 2020/2021


过去的版本

2019/2020版

2018/2019版

2017/2018版

2016/2017版

PORTRAIT Award May 2020


  • Winning Photographer Angelika Kollin

    Winning Photographer Angelika Kollin

    “Hold me ‘till I go”
    Part of a story about the battle through the last stages of cancer.⁠
    © Angelika Kollin
  • Justin Keene

    Second Prize Justin Keene

    Second Prize Justin Keene

    Quaid - Cape Town, South Africa
    Queezy is a young musician part of Cape Town’s emergent queer culture. The project challenges traditional documentary methods of representation and gender in South Africa. © Justin Keene
  • Third Prize Simon Martin

    Third Prize Simon Martin

    “Award Ceremony” - Cadet collects seat bases up after award ceremony, UK
    Being a teenager is a daunting experience, we may see it as trivial now, but it can play a huge part in the person we become. With the British education system continually having its funds cut and the price of University increasing I wanted to look at other sources of education and influence for 13 - 18 year olds.

    The Royal Marine Cadets is an after school program that uses the ethos of the Royal Marines to train young adults to complete various tasks. As much as the activities are mainly military based, the skills they learn are not solely intended to produce young soldiers but, instead, confident young adults. Leaving the cadets with the ability to achieve personal goals in the different walks of life they choose to follow. From series “Cadets” © Simon Martin
  • Finalist Erminando Aliaj

    Finalist Erminando Aliaj

    “Behind the Mask: Sara Coletti, Nurse - Lombardy, Italy
    The project is a series of portraits of health workers in the Poliambulanza Hospital in Brescia, Lombardy, during a break or at the end of their working shifts.

    The need to portrait doctors, nurses and health workers during the emergency, spouts from my desire to acknowledge them as people, revealing their faces, which normally hide behind the protection aids, nearly transforming them into abstract figures, icons of an Institution rather than humans. They’ve been called “angels” or “heroes”, in the attempt to describe the vital importance of their commitment, but maybe those superhuman terms hide the inability to face such an intensely dramatic human experience. Behind the mask, a face, a gaze, a facial expression, tell us, more than words could do, about the lives spent underneath this battle. The common engagement in giving service during the emergency, strengthens the human side of the relationships among the heath workers as well as the patients, overcoming differences in their roles, backgrounds and life paths.

    Behind the mask, there are no hierarchies nor divisions, but a spontaneous solidarity between individuals. The portraits could become a useful piece of witness, maybe even after the emergency, when all of this will be over, to help reworking our individual and social storytelling which will inevitably leave us with scars, wounds and mourning, but also a need for social and personal change and a greater level of awareness. © Erminando Aliaj
  • Finalist Laura Pannack

    Finalist Laura Pannack

    “Baruch” - From the series ‘Burrata’
    At the age of 16, Baruch chose to leave his Orthodox Jewish community and to study at university. The dramatic and challenging decision forced him to question his identity and future. © Laura Pannack
  • Finalist Lidewij Mulder

    Finalist Lidewij Mulder

    “Stories About My Grandfather”
    "A portrait of my grandmother in her bedroom. She kept telling stories about my grandfather, who passed away five years ago. My grandparents have been together for over 60 years and were the perfect example of a team. When my grandfather got cancer, my grandmother did everything she could to take care of him. She can’t sit still, she can’t stay in one place, but she turned all of that around, so she could take care of him." © Lidewij Mulder
  • Finalist Angelika Kollin

    Finalist Angelika Kollin

    “Martha is our future - Cape Town, South Africa
    Emmanuel, a Malawian immigrant and day laborer resides in one of the numerous townships of Cape Town. Emmanuel is portrayed holding his 2 years old daughter Martha. Emmanuel's only dream is of a better future. © Angelika Kollin
  • Finalist Michelle Marshall

    Finalist Michelle Marshall

    “Extra-Ordinary Rituals” - UK
    Shot with Slovenian Fashion Artefact Designer, Jana Zornik
    © Michelle Marshall
  • Finalist Claudia Caporn

    Finalist Claudia Caporn

    Mother at mulesing time - Australia 2019
    Women in agriculture are very rarely recognized or appreciated. Throughout the world, western discourse and stereotypes paint farmers as strong, white males. Before 1994, women in Australia weren’t legally allowed to list their occupation as ‘farmer.’ Instead they were merely seen as unproductive ‘silent partners’, ‘domestics’, or even just ‘farmer’s wives’. But even after the legal status of women in agriculture was changed, women on farms remain invisible, being severely misrepresented, undervalued, underestimated, and dismissed.

    Despite being a key factor in Australian agricultural production, women are given little public recognition in the industry. This photograph is part of my ongoing series portraying the many women who are workers in the Australian agriculture industry. This is my mother. She is a wife, a mother of four daughters, a school teacher, AND a farmer. Together with my father, they own and farm an 18,000-acre property, cropping wheat, barley and lupins and running over 5000 sheep. She is photographed here on an early, misty winter’s morning as we prepared for mulesing (the removal of excess wool around the buttocks to prevent deadly flystrike) our new seasons lambs. © Claudia Caporn
  • Finalist Justin Dingwall

    Finalist Justin Dingwall

    “The changing winds”
    In life, we have to wear many hats. Each hat requires something different from us and impacts how we interact in our world with other people. Each has its own set of expectations and obligations. Each represents a piece of our divided self, with our many identities, which is often sliced up neatly. The hats represent the many different roles and tasks that we have to perform and take on.
    © Justin Dingwall

Finalists

Jury's Feedback

  • Portrait of Dan Winters by Travis Smith

    Judged by: Dan Winters

    Known for the broad range of subject matter he is able to interpret, American artist Dan Winters is widely recognized as one of the most acclaimed portrait photographers of his time.

    His iconic celebrity portraiture has won him over one hundred national and international awards from American Photography, Communication Arts, PDN, The Art Directors Club of New York & Life Magazine. In 2003, he won the 1st place World Press Photo Award in the portrait category and was honored by Kodak as a photo “Icon” in their biographical “Legends” series. Throughout his career, he was also awarded the prestigious Alfred Eisenstaedt Award for Magazine Photography.

    In addition to regular assignments for magazines such as Esquire, The New York Times Magazine, Vanity Fair, Rolling Stone, NewsweekTime, and The New Yorker, his work has appeared in five solo exhibitions in galleries in New York and Los Angeles and a book of his work entitled “Dan Winters: Periodical Photographs” was published in 2009 by Aperture.

© James K. Papp
© © James K. Papp
Donell Gumiran - B&W Theme - Photo competition
© Donell Gumiran

Current Theme:
BLACK & WHITE Deadline: 30 November 2020

Street photography, fashion, portrait, conceptual, landscape, documentary: regardless of genres, this month we want to celebrate all the beauty and wealth of black & white images and we encourage photographers working across all genres to share with us their best monochromatic work!⁠

Enter now and show us what you got!


1st Prize: $1000 · 2nd Prize: $600 · 3rd Prize: $400

Previous Winners


Previous Edition 2019/2020


2018/2019 Edition

2017/2018 Edition

2016/2017 Edition