Talent émergent Award Février 2020


  • Photographe gagnant Sameer Al-Doumy

    Photographe gagnant Sameer Al-Doumy

    Titre: "Un autre visage de la guerre" - Douma, Syrie
    La Syrie Umm Mohammed et son mari boivent du café dans leur maison détruite dans la ville rebelle de Douma, à la périphérie de la capitale Damas, le 23 mars 2017. Um Mohammed, qui est originaire d'Alep, vit avec son mari qui en raison à une blessure de frappe aérienne a perdu la capacité de marcher. Elle élève du poulet comme source de nourriture et de revenus.
    © Sameer Al-Doumy
  • Deuxième prix Sujan Sarkar

    Deuxième prix Sujan Sarkar

    Titre: "Young Dreamers" - Bengale occidental, Inde
    © Sujan Sarkar
  • Titre: "Madonna del parto" - Cameroun Ce portrait fait partie d'un projet à long terme sur les conséquences de la guerre. Dans ce cas, la guerre civile au Cameroun qui a commencé il y a deux ans. Candice se repose sur le banc après avoir parcouru plus de mille kilomètres pour accoucher à l'hôpital d'Édea. Le village est situé près de Bamenda, dans la partie anglophone du pays. En raison de la guerre entre les séparatistes «Amba boy» et l'armée, la zone est assiégée, les routes sont presque toutes bloquées, il y a de nombreux points de contrôle et la nourriture et la drogue sont rares. Pour cette raison, elle a décidé de voyager pendant près de deux jours pour se rendre dans un hôpital sûr.

    troisième prix Davide Preti

    troisième prix Davide Preti

    Titre: "Madonna del parto" - Cameroun
    Ce portrait s'inscrit dans un projet à long terme sur les conséquences de la guerre. Dans ce cas, la guerre civile au Cameroun qui a commencé il y a deux ans. Candice se repose sur le banc après avoir parcouru plus de mille kilomètres pour accoucher à l'hôpital d'Édea. Le village est situé près de Bamenda, dans la partie anglophone du pays. En raison de la guerre entre les séparatistes «Amba boy» et l'armée, la zone est assiégée, les routes sont presque toutes bloquées, il y a de nombreux points de contrôle et la nourriture et la drogue sont rares. Pour cette raison, elle a décidé de voyager pendant près de deux jours pour se rendre dans un hôpital sûr.
    © Davide Preti
  • Titre: "дачный, Lena" - Udachny, Russie Ce portrait fait partie d'un documentaire sur une ville minière de diamants en Yakoutie, en Russie. «Udachny» est le nom de la ville, qui se traduit par chanceux car les premiers diamants russes y ont été trouvés. la série est un portrait de «Udachny» et un hommage à ses fiers habitants partant dans des conditions climatiques difficiles dans l'extrême nord de la Russie.

    Finaliste Hanne Van Assche

    Finaliste Hanne Van Assche

    Titre: "дачный, Lena" - Udachny, Russie
    Ce portrait fait partie d'un documentaire sur une ville minière de diamants en Yakoutie, en Russie. «Udachny» est le nom de la ville, qui se traduit par chanceux car les premiers diamants russes y ont été trouvés. la série est un portrait de «Udachny» et un hommage à ses fiers habitants partant dans des conditions climatiques difficiles dans l'extrême nord de la Russie.
    © Hanne Van Assche
  • Finaliste Azin Haghighi

    Finaliste Azin Haghighi

    Titre: "Mineur de charbon" - Abouzar, Iran
    Un ouvrier de la mine de charbon de la mine de Kalariz, dans la province de Semnan en Iran, sort son casque. Il travaille 4 jours par semaine et sa maison est à environ 150 kilomètres de cette mine. Les mineurs creusent profondément dans les montagnes, travaillant dans des passages sombres et étroits, où le risque de gaz toxiques et d'effondrements est permanent: un lieu de travail très stressant et dangereux.
    © Azin Haghighi
  • Finaliste Chris Beadle

    Finaliste Chris Beadle

    Titre: "Pesc-y Pelicans" - Nouvelle-Galles du Sud, Australie
    Capturé en regardant l'alimentation quotidienne des pélicans lors d'une visite à `` The Entrance '' en Australie. Les tons et les couleurs de l'image se complètent si bien. J'aime aussi l'énergie qui est créée par la récolte serrée, qui vous donne l'impression d'être au milieu de l'action.
    © Chris Beadle
  • Finaliste Connor Noll

    Finaliste Connor Noll

    Titre: «Parker dans son lit» - De «Projet de piste»
    © Connor Noll
  • Finaliste Koral Carballo

    Finaliste Koral Carballo

    Titre: «Le mystère du déguisement» - Veracruz, Mexique
    Octavio Lopez, un artisan afro-mexicain déguisé en «negros» de Coyolillo, à Veracruz, au Mexique. Cette tradition fait référence au fait que les esclaves d'une hacienda de Veracruz étaient libérés une fois par an et, ce jour-là, ils organisaient une fête pour célébrer leur liberté. Trois cents ans plus tard, cette célébration est devenue un carnaval qui nous rappelle l'histoire de la traite des esclaves au Mexique.
    © Koral Carballo
  • Finaliste Thanasorn Janekankit

    Finaliste Thanasorn Janekankit

    Titre: Sans titre - ⁠Thailand⁠
    © Thanasorn Janekankit
  • Finaliste Luca Marianaccio

    Finaliste Luca Marianaccio

    Titre: "404 Not Found⁠"
    La ville comme résultat d'un acte créateur ou d'une construction pourrait être le résultat définitif d'une métaphysique où l'homme «ne rencontre que lui-même» et, en se rencontrant, commence à avoir peur. «404 Not Found» est une histoire en images qui s'intéresse à des scénarios que nous considérons peut-être négatifs mais qui dans le futur seront la normalité: en ce sens, notre blâme sur l'avenir pourrait être un oubli hypocrite du présent.
    © Luca Marianaccio

Finalistes

Commentaires du jury

  • Jugé par: Elizabeth Krist

    A National Geographic éditeur de photos depuis plus de 20 ans, Elizabeth Krist a travaillé sur plus de 100 stories et édité au moins quatre millions de photographies.

    Tout au long de sa longue carrière, Krist a enseigné pour le Centre international de photographie, l'Université de Syracuse, les ateliers de Santa Fe et La Luz. Elle a révisé des portefeuilles pour le New York Times et a été nominée pour la Masterclass Joop Swart. Elle a été commissaire de Women of Vision, organisé le premier événement Women Focus au Newseum de Washington DC et est membre du conseil d'administration de Women Photograph. Krist a été juge pour The Fence, Picture Of the Year International, Getty Instagram et RFK Journalism Awards.

    Elle travaille actuellement sur un National Geographic livre et exposition sur la Chine et la production stories pour Magnum Photos.

Justin Keene
© Justin Keene
Portrait photographique couleur film d'une jeune femme par Michelle Marshall
© Michelle Marshall

Thème actuel:
Portrait Date limite: 31 Mai 2021

"Dans un portrait, je cherche le silence de quelqu'un."
- Henri Cartier-Bresson

La photographie de portrait a l'un des plus anciens et des plus intéressants histories qui rappelle les débuts du médium. À travers les portraits de personnages emblématiques ou de gens ordinaires, nous découvrons un profond intérêt pour les autres.

Œuvres récentes ou joyaux de vos archives, classiques ou expérimentales, et à travers tout type de narration: nous voulons découvrir les images les plus puissantes et les plus captivantes de la photographie de portrait d'aujourd'hui. Nous sommes ouverts à toutes les interprétations et voulons voir des visages qui regardent droit dans l'âme!


1er prix: $1000 · 2e prix: $600 · 3e prix: $400

Gagnants précédents


Édition précédente 2019/2020


Édition 2018/2019

Édition 2017/2018

Édition 2016/2017

EMERGING TALENT Awards February 2020


  • Winning Photographer Sameer Al-Doumy

    Winning Photographer Sameer Al-Doumy

    Title: "Another Face of War"- Douma, Syria
    Syrian Umm Mohammed and her husband drink coffee at their destroyed home in the rebel-held town of Douma, on the outskirts of the capital Damascus, on March 23, 2017. Um Mohammed, who is originally from Aleppo, lives with her husband who due to an airstrike injury lost the ability to walk. She farms chicken as a source of food and income.
    © Sameer Al-Doumy
  • Second Prize Sujan Sarkar

    Second Prize Sujan Sarkar

    Title: "Young Dreamers" - West Bengal, India
    © Sujan Sarkar
  • Title: "Madonna del parto" - Cameroon This portrait is part of a long-term project on the consequences of war. In this case, the civil war in Cameroon that started two years ago. Candice rests on the bench after traveling over a thousand kilometer to give birth in the hospital of Édea. The village is located near Bamenda, in the English-speaking part of the country. Due to the war between the separatists ‘Amba boy’ and the army, the area is under siege, the roads are almost all blocked, there are numerous checkpoints and food and drugs are in short supply. For this reason, she decided to travel for almost two days to reach a safe hospital.

    Third Prize Davide Preti

    Third Prize Davide Preti

    Title: "Madonna del parto" - Cameroon
    This portrait is part of a long-term project on the consequences of war. In this case, the civil war in Cameroon that started two years ago. Candice rests on the bench after traveling over a thousand kilometer to give birth in the hospital of Édea. The village is located near Bamenda, in the English-speaking part of the country. Due to the war between the separatists ‘Amba boy’ and the army, the area is under siege, the roads are almost all blocked, there are numerous checkpoints and food and drugs are in short supply. For this reason, she decided to travel for almost two days to reach a safe hospital.
    © Davide Preti
  • Title: "дачный, Lena" - Udachny, Russia This portrait is part of a documentary about a diamond mining city in Yakutia, Russia. “Udachny” is the name of the city, which is translated as lucky because the first Russian diamonds were found there. the series is a portrait of “Udachny” and an homage to its proud inhabitants leaving under harsh climatic conditions in the far north of Russia.

    Finalist Hanne Van Assche

    Finalist Hanne Van Assche

    Title: "дачный, Lena" - Udachny, Russia
    This portrait is part of a documentary about a diamond mining city in Yakutia, Russia. “Udachny” is the name of the city, which is translated as lucky because the first Russian diamonds were found there. the series is a portrait of “Udachny” and an homage to its proud inhabitants leaving under harsh climatic conditions in the far north of Russia.
    © Hanne Van Assche
  • Finalist Azin Haghighi

    Finalist Azin Haghighi

    Title: "Coal miner" - Abouzar, Iran
    A coal mine worker in the Kalariz mine, Semnan province in Iran, takes out his helmet. He works 4 days a week, and his home is about 150 kilometers away from this mine. The miners dig deep into the mountains, working in dark, narrow passageways, where the risk of toxic gases and cave-ins is permanent: a very stressful and dangerous workplace.
    © Azin Haghighi
  • Finalist Chris Beadle

    Finalist Chris Beadle

    Title: "Pesc-y Pelicans" - New South Wales, Australia
    Captured while watching the daily pelican feed during on visite at ‘The Entrance’ in Australia. The tones and colors within the image complement one another so well. I also like the energy that is created by the tight crop, making you feel like you’re in amongst the action.
    © Chris Beadle
  • Finalist Connor Noll

    Finalist Connor Noll

    Title: “Parker in her bed" - From "Runway project"
    © Connor Noll
  • Finalist Koral Carballo

    Finalist Koral Carballo

    Title: “The mystery of disguise" - Veracruz, Mexico
    Octavio Lopez, an Afro-Mexican artisan disguised as the “negros” of Coyolillo, in Veracruz, Mexico. This tradition refers to the fact that slaves from a hacienda in Veracruz were freed once a year and, on that day, they held a party to celebrate their freedom. Three hundred years later, that celebration has become a carnival that reminds us of the slave trade history in Mexico.
    © Koral Carballo
  • Finalist Thanasorn Janekankit

    Finalist Thanasorn Janekankit

    Title: Untitled - ⁠Thailand⁠
    © Thanasorn Janekankit
  • Finalist Luca Marianaccio

    Finalist Luca Marianaccio

    Title: "404 Not Found⁠"
    The city as the result of a creative act or construction could be the result definitive of a metaphysics where man “Encounters nothing but himself” and, in meeting, he begins to be afraid. “404 Not Found” is a story in pictures interested in scenarios that we perhaps consider negative but that in the future will be normality: in this sense, our blame on the future could be a hypocritical forgetfulness of the present.⁠
    © Luca Marianaccio

Finalists

 

1ST PRIZE: Sameer Al-Doumy

“This couple drinking coffee with quiet calm in the aftermath of the violence that destroyed their home says so much to me about resilience in the face of loss. I also appreciate the composition– the wife and husband each framed by a breach in the walls, the shadowed weight of their bodies positioned together in the center of the frame, giving the image a visual stability. In one opening, the world lies in ruins, and through the other it seems intact, fields green with hope. The gray, almost monochromatic tones reinforce the sober tone. There is a power in the intimacy they share, even as they are connected with the uncertain world beyond them.” – Elizabeth Krist

 

2ND PRIZE: Sujan Sarkar⁣

“The sheer exuberance of youth at play is contagious, intensified by the splashing water and the unrestrained athleticism. The joy of a scene like this is universal, fed by nostalgia for our own childhood or by memories of seeing our children completely caught up in the excitement of a game. The action is artfully framed by the inner tube of the onlooker who has stopped to watch and is given an extra abstract dimension by the reflections on the surface of the water. The photographer, too, is at play.” – Elizabeth Krist
 

3RD PRIZE: Davide Preti

“The emotions captured in Davide Preti’s portrait of a young pregnant woman resting on a hospital’s bench, exhausted after a perilous journey across a war-torn country in order to protect her baby, are universal and reach to us all deeply. It speaks of resilience, of pain and power. The quiet and careful composition speaks volumes while holding us silent and pensive. One cannot help but think of the holy virgin carrying and protecting life. All of humanity in an image, with photography as a vessel.” – The Independent Photographer Editors

Portrait photograph of a boy by Maarten Schröder
© Maarten Schröder

Current Theme:
Portrait Deadline: 31 May 2020

Portrait photography has one of the oldest and most interesting histories that harkens back to the early days of the medium. Through portraits of iconic figures or ordinary people, we discover a deep interest in others.

Classic or experimental, through any kind of storytelling: We want to discover the most powerful and captivating images of today’s portrait photography.

We are open to all interpretations and want to see faces that gaze right into the soul!


1st Prize: $1000 · 2nd Prize: $600 · 3rd Prize: $400

Previous Winners


Previous Edition 2018/2019


2017/2018 Edition

2016/2017 Edition