Prix ​​du portrait Mai 2017


Finalistes

Commentaires du jury

  • © Ken Hermann

    Juge: Ken Herman

    Basé à Copenhague, Ken Herman est un photographe danois travaillant pour un large éventail de clients internationaux et poursuivant plusieurs projets personnels.

    Spécialisé dans la photographie de portrait, Ken est passionné par les individus et leur salut uniquestories. Son travail vise à explorer le fragile équilibre existant entre les People et leur environnement. Son application de l'éclairage, combinant artificiel et naturel, emmène les images dans un espace surréaliste, créant des visions oniriques de gens ordinaires.

    Au fil des années d'expérience professionnelle, Ken a photographié des gens du monde entier, des lutteurs de Mongolie intérieure, des hommes-fleurs de Calcutta aux artistes de rue du centre-ville de Los Angeles et des tribus de la vallée de l'Omo en Ethiopie.

    Le travail de Ken a été publié dans de nombreux magazines et une rétrospective de son travail a été récemment exposée au festival de photographie «La Quatrième Image» à Paris. Son expérience l'a conduit à remporter le prestigieux Hasselblad Master Award en 2012.

Nicolò Taborra
© Nicolò Taborra
Photo de portrait couleur d'une fille et d'une femme en Inde par Robi Chakraborty
© Robi Chakraborty

Thème actuel:
Voyages Date limite: 31 August 2022

Juge de compétition: STEVE MCCURRY
En voyage, la seule façon de découvrir le rythme de vie d'un lieu est de le vivre. Chaque endroit que nous visitons a son propre look, son ambiance et son atmosphère. Comprendre ses habitants, ses coutumes et ses traditions est vital et il y a toujours quelque chose d'unique à capturer.

Cet été, nous voulons voir des images qui communiquent la vie d'un lieu dans toute sa splendeur et déclenchent nos souvenirs. Quel que soit le sujet : Rue, Portrait, Paysage, Documentaire… Nous souhaitons partager votre voyage, visuellement et intellectuellement – ​​Voyageons ensemble !


1er prix: $1000 · 2e prix: $600 · 3e prix: $400

Gagnants précédents


Édition précédente 2020/2021


ÉDITIONS PASSÉES

Édition 2019/2020

Édition 2018/2019

Édition 2017/2018

Édition 2016/2017

Portrait Award May 2017


Finalists

Jury's Feedback

  • Judged by: Ken Hermann

    Based in Copenhagen, Ken Hermann is a Danish photographer working for a wide range of international clients as well as pursuing multiple personal projects.

    Specialized in portrait photography, Ken is passionate about individuals and their unique histories. His work aims to explore the fragile balance existing between people and their environment. His application of lighting, combining artificial with natural, takes the images into a surreal space, creating dreamlike visions of everyday people.

    Over years of professional experience Ken has photographed people all around the world, from the wrestlers of Inner Mongolia, the flower men of Kolkata to the street performers of downtown Los Angeles and the tribes of Ethiopia’s Omo Valley.

    Ken’s work has been published in numerous magazines and a retrospective of his work was recently exhibited at “La Quatrième Image” photography festival in Paris. His experience has lead him to win the prestigious Hasselblad Master Award in 2012.

Justin Keene
© Justin Keene
Color film portrait photograph of a young woman by Michelle Marshall
© Michelle Marshall

Current Theme:
Portrait Deadline: 31 May 2021

"In a portrait, I’m looking for the silence in somebody."
- Henri Cartier-Bresson

Portrait photography has one of the oldest and most interesting histories that harkens back to the early days of the medium. Through portraits of iconic figures or ordinary people, we discover a deep interest in others.

Recent works or gems from your archives, classic or experimental, and through any kind of storytelling: we want to discover the most powerful and captivating images of today’s portrait photography. We are open to all interpretations and want to see faces that gaze right into the soul!


1st Prize: $1000 · 2nd Prize: $600 · 3rd Prize: $400

Previous Winners


Previous Edition 2019/2020


2018/2019 Edition

2017/2018 Edition

2016/2017 Edition