Visual Storytelling CONCOURS Le 2019 juin


  • Photographie documentaire Un homme noyé par un cartel de la drogue aux Philippines par Lynzy Billing

    Photographe récompensé Facturation Lynzy

    Photographe récompensé Facturation Lynzy

    'Justice enterrée' - Lire l'histoire complète de Lynzy Billing
    «En 2016, le président Rodrigo Duterte a lancé une campagne nationale de lutte contre la drogue. À ce jour, l'Agence philippine de lutte contre la drogue a déclaré que la campagne avait fait 5,050 20,000 morts. Les organisations de défense des droits humains estiment cependant un nombre de morts aussi élevé que XNUMX XNUMX. Des milliers de cas sont confrontés à la même impasse: aucun témoin ou, s'il y en a, ils ont trop peur pour parler.
    Depuis 2017, mon travail se concentre sur les People non identifiées et les décès non étudiés. '' © Lynzy Facturation
  • Photographie documentaire Noir et blanc au Bangladesh naufrage par Graeme Heckels

    Deuxième prix Graeme Heckels

    Deuxième prix Graeme Heckels

    `` Les travailleurs '' - Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Le Bangladesh compte plus de 100 chantiers de construction navale, la plupart desservant le marché intérieur. Le chantier naval de Dhaka au bord de la rivière Buriganga, à la périphérie de Dhaka, est l'un des principaux chantiers navals du Bangladesh. © Graeme Heckels
  • Geisha derrière la photographie de portrait de mur par Anoush Abrar

    troisième prix Anoush Abrar

    troisième prix Anoush Abrar

    Sans titre - De la série "White Mask"
    Plusieurs voyages au Japon, beaucoup de négociations et une intégration étroite avec les bonnes People ont été nécessaires pour enfin entrer par la porte de derrière dans ce monde mystique, exclusivement réservé à l'élite. Il faut savoir qu'il est totalement impossible d'approcher une geisha sans l'aide d'un japonais et qu'il est encore plus difficile d'en faire la photographie sans une forme de confiance précoce et bien établie.
    Pour cette série j'ai voulu travailler sous un angle différent comme les portraits, le documentaire et les décors composés. Les Japonais n'aiment pas les images sombres, en particulier l'ombre. Drôle cependant de découvrir que le terme utilisé pour dire prendre une photo: «Satsu Ei» signifie littéralement «je prends l'ombre». J'ai transposé ma culture visuelle occidentale sur la culture japonaise en jouant avec l'ombre et la lumière, souvent picturales. Ce projet est toujours en cours. © Anoush Abrar
  • Photographie documentaire de foule d'en haut par Azim Khan Ronnie

    Finaliste Azim Khan Ronnie

    Finaliste Azim Khan Ronnie

    `` Les plus grandes prières de l'Aïd d'Asie du Sud ''
    La plus grande congrégation Eid-ul-Fitr d'Asie du Sud s'est tenue à Gor-e-Shahid Boro Math, Dinajpur, Bangladesh. Selon l'affirmation des organisateurs, plus de 600,000 XNUMX fidèles ont participé à cette congrégation de l'Aïd.
    Les prières ont commencé à 8h30 avec des fidèles venant de différentes parties de la région. Eid-ul-Fitr est une fête musulmane du bonheur célébrée dans le monde entier. © Azim Khan Ronnie
  • Photographie documentaire Femme allaitant son enfant au Tchad par Marco Gualazzini

    Finaliste Marco Gualazzini

    Finaliste Marco Gualazzini

    «La catastrophe humanitaire la plus complexe du monde: la crise du lac Tchad» - Melea, province de Bol, Tchad. 17 octobre 2018. Maria Hassan, 20 ans, a été enlevée dans le village de Midi Couta par le groupe Boko Haram. Forcée d'épouser l'un des extrémistes, avec qui elle a eu un enfant. Aujourd'hui, après avoir réussi à s'échapper, elle vit seule et se décrit comme une femme sans passé. © Marco Gualazzini
  • Photographie documentaire Homme sautant du pont par Ariella Jelic

    Finaliste Ariella Jelic

    Finaliste Ariella Jelic

    'Land Diving Pentecost' - Vanuatu
    Un homme saute d'une tour en bois dans le village de Londot pour célébrer la récolte de l'igname dans le cadre de l'ancien rituel dans le sud de l'île de la Pentecôte, Vanuatu. © Ariella Jelic
  • Photographie documentaire Woman in Water Fishing par Kris Pannecoucke

    Finaliste Kris Pannecoucke

    Finaliste Kris Pannecoucke

    'Plongée aux palourdes sur le fleuve Congo' - République démocratique du Congo
    Le parc national Marin des Mangroves à l'estuaire du fleuve Congo est un véritable labyrinthe d'îles et de canaux. Des femmes comme Sephora plongent jusqu'à 4 mètres dans des eaux noires pour les palourdes. Ils vendent des brochettes avec de la viande de palourdes dans les villes de Muanda et Boma. © Kris Pannecoucke
  • Femme blonde photo de Steve Dean Mendes

    Finaliste Steve Dean Mendes

    Finaliste Steve Dean Mendes

    'Xueli raw' - De 'Project Raw / Under my skin'
    Depuis l'année dernière, je travaille sur un projet appelé «Project Raw / Under my skin». Cette série se compose de portraits honnêtes et puissants sans maquillage ni retouche Photoshop. Project Raw / Under my skin parle d'acceptation de soi, de connaissance de soi, d'amour de soi. Je veux montrer que nous sommes tous pareils mais aussi uniques. © Steve Doyen Mendes
  • Étudiants de l'école des cadets General Ermolov Stavropol Russie photographie documentaire par Eduard Korniyenko

    Finaliste Edouard Korniyenko

    Finaliste Edouard Korniyenko

    'Seigneur des armes'
    Des élèves de l'école des cadets General Ermolov sont en route pour faire du saut en parachute dans le village de Novomaryevskaya dans la région de Stavropol, en Russie. © Edouard Korniyenko
  • Photographie documentaire en Iran par Cepoi Aurel

    Finaliste Cépoi Aurel

    Finaliste Cépoi Aurel

    'Père Qashqai en service' - Firuzabad, Iran
    Un homme prend soin des enfants quand sa femme danse au mariage nomade sur le terrain autour de Firuzabad, Iran © Cepoi Aurel

Finalistes

Commentaires du jury

  • photo portrait couleur d'Ed Kashi par Kristin Reimer
    © Christine Reimer

    Juge: Ed Kashi

    Représenté par le prestigieux VII agency, Ed Kashi est un photojournaliste de renom qui utilise la photographie pour explorer les enjeux géopolitiques et sociaux qui définissent notre époque.

    Voix de premier plan dans le monde du photojournalisme, Kashi donne fréquemment des conférences sur un large éventail de sujets pour les institutions artistiques, les universités et les organisations professionnelles.

    Son travail a été publié et exposé dans le monde entier, recevant de nombreux prix et distinctions. Grâce à ses missions éditoriales et projets personnels, Kashi a publié neuf livres et il est également un éducateur et un mentor dévoué pour les photographes du monde entier.

Nicolò Taborra
© Nicolò Taborra
Photo de portrait couleur d'une fille et d'une femme en Inde par Robi Chakraborty
© Robi Chakraborty

Thème actuel:
Voyages Date limite: 31 August 2022

Juge de compétition: STEVE MCCURRY
En voyage, la seule façon de découvrir le rythme de vie d'un lieu est de le vivre. Chaque endroit que nous visitons a son propre look, son ambiance et son atmosphère. Comprendre ses habitants, ses coutumes et ses traditions est vital et il y a toujours quelque chose d'unique à capturer.

Cet été, nous voulons voir des images qui communiquent la vie d'un lieu dans toute sa splendeur et déclenchent nos souvenirs. Quel que soit le sujet : Rue, Portrait, Paysage, Documentaire… Nous souhaitons partager votre voyage, visuellement et intellectuellement – ​​Voyageons ensemble !


1er prix: $1000 · 2e prix: $600 · 3e prix: $400

Gagnants précédents


Édition précédente 2020/2021


ÉDITIONS PASSÉES

Édition 2019/2020

Édition 2018/2019

Édition 2017/2018

Édition 2016/2017

VISUAL STORYTELLING Awards June 2019


  • Documentary photography Man drowned by drug cartel in Philippines by Lynzy Billing

    Winning Photographer Lynzy Billing

    Winning Photographer Lynzy Billing

    'Buried Justice' - Read Lynzy Billing's full story
    'In 2016 President Rodrigo Duterte launched a nationwide anti-drug campaign. To date, the Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency says the campaign has led to 5,050 deaths. Human rights organisations however, estimate a death toll as high as 20,000. Thousands of cases face the same dead end: no witnesses or, if there are, they are too scared to speak.
    Since 2017 my work has been focused on those not identified and deaths not investigated.' © Lynzy Billing
  • Documentary photography Black and White in Bangladesh ship wrecking by Graeme Heckels

    Second Prize Graeme Heckels

    Second Prize Graeme Heckels

    'The Workers' - Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Bangladesh has more than 100 ship building yards, with most of them serving the domestic market. Dhaka Shipyard by the river Buriganga, on the outskirt of Dhaka, is one of the leading shipyards in Bangladesh. © Graeme Heckels
  • Geisha behind wall portrait photography by Anoush Abrar

    Third Prize Anoush Abrar

    Third Prize Anoush Abrar

    Untitled - From series "White Mask"
    Several trips to Japan, a lot of negotiation and a close integration with the right people were necessary to finally enter from the back door in this mystic world, exclusively reserved to the elite. One must know that it is totally impossible to approach a geisha without the help of a Japanese and it is even more difficult to do any photography of them without an early and well-established kind of trust.
    For this series I wanted to work on a different angle such as portraits, documentary and composed scenery. The Japanese do not like dark images, especially the shadow. Funny however to discover that the term used to say taking a picture: “Satsu Ei” literally means “I take the shadow”. I transposed my Western visual culture on Japanese culture by playing with shadow and light, often pictorially. This project is still in progress. © Anoush Abrar
  • Crowd from above documantary photography by Azim Khan Ronnie

    Finalist Azim Khan Ronnie

    Finalist Azim Khan Ronnie

    'South Asia's largest Eid prayers'
    South Asia’s largest Eid-ul-Fitr Congregation held in Gor-e-Shahid Boro Math, Dinajpur, Bangladesh. According to the organizers’s claim, over 600,000 devotees participated in this Eid congregation.
    The prayers began at 8:30 am with devotees coming from different parts of the region. Eid-ul-Fitr is a Muslim festival of happiness celebrated all over the world. © Azim Khan Ronnie
  • Documentary photography Woman breast feeding her child in Chad by Marco Gualazzini

    Finalist Marco Gualazzini

    Finalist Marco Gualazzini

    'The world’s most complex humanitarian disaster: the Lake Chad crisis' - Melea, Bol province, Chad. 17th October 2018. Maria Hassan, aged 20 was kidnapped from the village of Midi Couta by the Boko Haram group. Forced into marrying one of the extremists, with whom she had a child. Today, after managing to escape, she lives alone and describes herself as a woman without a past. © Marco Gualazzini
  • Documentary photography Man jumping from bridge by Ariella Jelic

    Finalist Ariella Jelic

    Finalist Ariella Jelic

    'Land Diving Pentecost' - Vanuatu
    A man jumps from a wooden tower in Londot Village to celebrate the yam harvest as part of the ancient ritual in Southern Pentecost Island, Vanuatu. © Ariella Jelic
  • Documentary Photography Woman in Water fishing by Kris Pannecoucke

    Finalist Kris Pannecoucke

    Finalist Kris Pannecoucke

    'Congo River clam diving' - The Democratic Republic of Congo
    The national park Marin Des Mangroves at the estuary of the Congo River is a veritable maze of islands and channels. Women like Sephora dive up to 4 meters down in pitch black water for clams. They sell skewers with clam meat in the cities of Muanda and Boma. © Kris Pannecoucke
  • Blonde Woman photo by Steve Dean Mendes

    Finalist Steve Dean Mendes

    Finalist Steve Dean Mendes

    'Xueli raw' - From ‘Project Raw / Under my skin'
    Since last year I have been working on a project called ‘Project Raw / Under my skin.’ This series consists of honest and powerful portraits with no make up or Photoshop retouching. Project Raw / Under my skin is about self-acceptance, self knowledge, self love. I want to show that we are all the same but also unique. © Steve Dean Mendes
  • Students from the General Ermolov Cadet School Stavropol Russia documentary photography by Eduard Korniyenko

    Finalist Eduard Korniyenko

    Finalist Eduard Korniyenko

    'Lord of the guns'
    Students from the General Ermolov Cadet School are on their way to parachute jumping in Novomaryevskaya village in Stavropol region, Russia. © Eduard Korniyenko
  • Documentary Photography in Iran by Cepoi Aurel

    Finalist Cepoi Aurel

    Finalist Cepoi Aurel

    'Qashqai father on duty' - Firuzabad, Iran
    A man is taking care about children when wife is dancing at nomad wedding on the field around Firuzabad, Iran © Cepoi Aurel

Finalists

First Prize: Lynzy Billing

“The photograph combines aesthetic beauty, a simple yet haunting design, and it both verifies facts (The Who, what, where and at least when, if not the way) but it also evokes a range of emotions and almost startling realisations once the reality, if so, sets in. It’s also a comment on where the world is heading right now. A certain despair and death.” – Ed Kashi

– NB: Discover the full story of Lynzy’s powerful image here.

Second Prize: Graeme Heckels

“The design is magnificent and the capture is quite something. There is lyricism and tension and so many wonderful human gestures and actions in one frame. It tells a story and provides a glimpse into manual labor and depending on the caption, it could act as a piece of reporting too.” – Ed Kashi

Honorary Mention: Anoush Abrar

“Subtle, well composed and quietly powerful, Anoush’s photograph couldn’t possibly introduce us to the mysterious and mystical world of Geishas in a more beautiful and poetic manner. The image offers the promisses of a story the viewer simply itches to be told; Visual storytelling at it’s best!” – The Independent Photographer Editors

© Jorgen Johanson

Current Theme:
TRAVEL Deadline: 31 August 2019

Competition Judge: STEVE MCCURRY

When traveling, the only way to discover the rhythm of life of a place is to experience it.

Each place we visit has its own particular look, ambiance, and atmosphere. Understanding its people, customs and traditions is vital and there’s always something unique to capture.

This summer we want to see images that communicate the life of a place in all its splendor, and trigger our memories. Whatever the subject may be: Street, Portrait, Landscape, Documentary... We want to share your journey, visually and intellectually - Let’s travel together!


1st Prize: $1000 · 2nd Prize: $600 · 3rd Prize: $400

Previous Winners


Previous Edition 2017/2018


2016/2017 Edition